The Governors plays a vital role in the life of the school in making sure every child gets the best possible education. Their role is to support the school with a view to promoting high standards of educational achievement at the school.

Governors have a strong focus on 3 core strategic functions:

  • Ensuring a clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;
  • Holding the Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils; and
  • Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent.

They meet together as a full Governing Body once a term and also hold committee meetings which focus on specific areas of school life such as Finance & Personnel, Curriculum and Standards, Premises Health and Safety.

In addition, each Governor is expected to make regular visits to school to meet the children, participate in aspects of school life, and monitor the implementation of the School Development Plan.  All Governors hold their office for a period of four years. The Chair of Governors can always be contacted via the school office.

Correspondence for the Chair of Governors should be sent to the school address. They will be forwarded by the School Office to the Chair of Governors.

The Governors of Ratby Primary School are:

GovernorAppointed byAppointment FromAppointment CeasesDate Stepped DownRegister of Business & Pecuniary InterestsAttendance Record for 2018/2019
Mr Sam Ward (Chair of Governors)Governing Body17.01.201916.01.2023None100%
Rev Dr Ed BamptonGoverning Body10.10.201709.10.2021Employer: Church of England (Local Rector)75%
Mrs Gill DavisGoverning Body26.06.201725.06.2021Employer: Leicestershire Police. (Serious Case Review Officer)100%
Mrs Catherine Stretton (Vice Chair of Governors)Governing Body01.02.201731.01.2021Employer & Governor: Spinney Hill Primary School, Leicester City75%
Mr Paul HopeParent01.10.201930.09.2023Employer: Boots Hearing Care & Member of Health & Care Professions Council75%
Mrs Lyndsey SmithParent01.09.201931.08.2023None75%
Mrs Steph McDonaldParent23/10/201822/10/2022Governor: Moat Community College, Moat Field Studies Association Trustee, M25%
Mr Marc FinniganGoverning Body16.03.201615.03.2020Employer: FM Global (Commercial Insurance)75%
Miss Jayne PikeStaff01.05.201830.04.2022Employer: Ratby Primary School (Teacher)100%
Mrs Nicola BedderGoverning Body01.02/201731.02.2021None100%
Mrs Lisa JonesEx-Officio by virtue of office as Head01.05.201831.08.2025None100%
Mrs Joanne MerryGoverning Body03.12.201509.01.201920.12.2018None50%